The spooky twang of a theremin can mean only one thing…

Standard

Mornin’ all.

“Uh, you feeling okay, Bethie?”

Yeah.

“You sure?”

…yeeeaaah. I’m fine. Why?

Wait. Do you know something I don’t know? Should I be feeling *not* okay?!? Now that you mention it, I am getting a bit sweaty. And one eyelid seems a bit poofier than the other. *gulp* Oh no. Oh m’gawd. I think my throat is feeling itchy and tickly. Yes, yes it’s definitely starting to feel itchy. It’s getting harder to breathe.

WHAT DOES THAT MEAN!?? TELL ME WHAT YOU KNOW RIGHT NOW.

“…whoa. I was just wondering why you’re sitting down for another chit chat. This will be the third this week.”

*gulp* You mean I don’t have parvo?

“I don’t even think people can get parvo.”

Holy crap, dude. Don’t scare me like that! Gah. Now I’ve got heart palpitations!

*deep breath* *muttering mantra* *ironic sip of turbo caffeinated coffee*

I’m writing so much now for a few reasons, and none of them have anything to do with disease. The kiddies are back at school. This leaves me bored and lonely. My two best emotions for getting shit done happen to be boredom and loneliness.

The weather’s finally getting cooler. I’m a biggun. Bigguns don’t do well in the heat. I used to tell people I deep fried from the inside out, but to be honest, no one really thought it was funny but me. They’d get horrified looks on their faces and back away slowly. I suppose that’s why I babble on the internet instead of perform gigs in comedy clubs.

And the last reason I keep harassing you is that I’ve got a new keyboard. Remember that keyboard frying incident? Oh, you know. A few weeks back I gave my keyboard a coffee bath. You might think a coffee bath for a keyboard would give similar results to a milk bath for beautiful skin. You’d be wrong. Electronics don’t seem to appreciate moisturization.

Now, for about 20 years, I’ve exclusively used a split keyboard, where half of the letters are over this way, and the other over that. However, we couldn’t find a damn split keyboard anywhere locally and didn’t want to wait for the shipping. We decided to pick up a cheap interim keyboard, but the man went and got all fancy, so now the interim has a permanent position. Er, at least until I host another electronics spa day.

Anyway, the new keyboard is still technically an ergonomic one, but the keys wave instead of split. The only way I’m going to retrain my muscle memory is to keep hunting and pecking and hitting “k” every damn time I want to hit “j” until my fingers get it.

I’m getting much, much better. It still feels like I’m a little kid walking around in my mum’s high heels, but at least I can make it to the other side of the metaphorical room without landing on my face.

I need to hone my skills on this peripheral. The cooler weather and quieter abode is making me itch to wrap up the loose ends of a few books I’ve got percolating, one of which I honestly intended to be out in late spring.

So, in a nutshell, I’m bugging you constantly right now because I’m bored, lonely, and need practice.

“Gee, thanks.”

Aw, don’t be like that! Consider it payback for you trying to convince me I had parvo.

Now, I need to type. You need to have coffee and be entertained. I have the news pages open, and I think I hear the band tuning their theremins. The go-go dancers put on some ballet shoes, though everyone knows you should *tap* to theremin music, but who am I to tell them how to do their craft? Anyway, what I’m getting at is that I think we all need a little….

*** HEADLINE ROUNDUP!!! ***

*eerie theme music* *poignant echappe* *extra vibrato on the finish*

Wow. I stand corrected. *wipes tear* I had no idea the Roundup into could be so moving. Brava ladies, brava.

Now that we’ve been invigorated with the passion of art, let’s begin. For those who might be Roundup novices, here’s the deal. Sometimes a headline catches my eye. It may be poorly worded, misleading, or just generally imagination-inducing. I gather them up and share them with you…with comments. Every headline is 100% legitimate. I just supply the graceful flourish after. Here we go.

– Clintons Paid Man for Server Work

Heh heh. Chumps. Who pays for tech support anymore?

– Annual Pillow Fight Turns Bloody

“Oh…oh, were we not supposed to put bricks in the pillow cases? My bad.”

– Teen Trapped in School Safe Saved

Then it is a very aptly named piece of equipment. Good thing he didn’t get trapped in the school peril.

– R-Patz: It’s The “Worst Insult” to Mistake Me for an American

America’s not that crazy about it either, you sparkly asshole.

– Weekend Legal Setback for Cosby

Easy way to avoid that, Bill. Stop raping people.

– How We Eat Bacon Around the World

*raised eyebrow*…orally, I hope.

– Apostolic Church Fuels Clerk’s Gay Marriage Fight

Oh. I had no idea she worked for a church. I’m not sure she’s clear on the finer points of her employers, either.

-KY Clerk’s Attorney: Marriage Licenses for Gays are Void

Aw, no fair! Why does a lawyer get to void marriages at a whim but I wasn’t allowed to void my parking ticket? If he gets to arbitrarily change laws, I wanna do it, too!

– GOP Candidates Rush to Support KY Clerk

You know, with the huge pile of candidates to sort through this election cycle, it’s good that we’ve got instances like this to help clearly define the riffraff.

– KY Clerk Refuses to Back Down, No Resolution in Sight

…okay, look. The coverage of this is getting out of control. The clerk broke the law. You cannot work for the GOVERNMENT and use your RELIGION to decide how you serve the PUBLIC. Period. Our entire country was founded on that one principle. It’s law, plain and simple. Don’t want to follow the law? That’s up to you. But YOU do not get to decide MY rights because of YOUR religion. Period. End of discussion.

– Hope for Equality Crusaders in KY as…
I SAID END OF FUCKING DISCUSSION.

– Why is McDonald’s Finally Offering All-day Breakfast?

Better question: why are people so obsessed with all-day breakfast? And why do all-day breakfasters always feel the need to tell you they enjoy pancakes in the afternoon? Why do I need to know this? Things to ponder, folks.

– 43% of US Homes at High Risk from Natural Disasters

What a bizarre statistic.

– Massive Rock Threatening to Crash into Base of Arizona Dam

“Oh. I see you’ve got a nice dam going on here. Looks like it’s doing what? Holding millions of gallons of water back from drowning small towns, is it? Hm. We seem to find ourselves in an interesting situation then. I want to escape the quarry, you’ve got a beautiful, shiny dam… It’s such a nice dam. It would be a shame if something happened to it.”

– Oregon Judge Refuses to Perform Same-sex Marriages

Don’t you start with that shit, too, Oregon! I thought we had something special…?

– Bears Spotted in and Around Denver Searching for Food

They nudged the Broncos out of the way, who were also spotted in and around Denver searching for a win.

…sorry, Colorado. I could not pass it up this close to football season. You understand.

– Elusive Fla. Cobra Ignites Social Media as Search Continues

His latest Tweet said: “I was RIGHT over your head, @flstatetroopers. You’re not even making this hard!! #nowondercriminalsgetaway #suckit #nevergonnafindme”

– Soulless Banker in Topless Spar

I didn’t bother reading the article because I want to keep my belief that old, pasty bankers with no rhythm threw down over the last free lollipop. It makes me happy to believe that actually happened.

– Wildfires Take Toll on Hunting Season

Probably the absolute LEAST important impact of a massive wildfire.

– Black Bear “Army Unit” Surrounds Russian Town

Admit it. I am not the only one right now who thinks there’s a better than fair chance that Putin has actually weaponized bears.

– Amazon Hiring for New Restaurant Division in Seattle, NYC

“Your search for: egg yolk ravioli found 23 new and 52 used offers from 75 sellers. Refine your search?”

– Amazon Hiring for New Restaurant Division in Seattle, NYC

Do you think they’ll deliver food with drones, too? Literal cloudy with a chance of meatballs.

…I couldn’t decide which one to go with, so you got a bonus.

– Arab World’s Richest Nations Offer Little Help

I want to say something about the governments…but then you’ll take it to be about the everyday folks because I KNOW how the internet works…and I’ll get email…and stumble and try to explain, but it’ll be too late because, DUH, INTERNET…and then there will be a cloud hanging over us… Let’s just leave any wise cracks about the governments of the Arab nations in question unspoken.

– Migrants Stream into Austria, Swept West by Overwhelmed Hungary

I’m dying to share puns, but that would probably be misconstrued, too. You’re killin’ me here, MSN. You really are.

– As Officers are Gunned Down, Police Feel Under Attack

Huh. What an odd reaction to being shot at. Can you say persecution complex? Yikes.

– Crowded House! International Crew Arrives at Space Station

Ain’t no party like an international space station party cuz and international space station party don’t stop…unless an outside catalyst applies enough force upon the international space station to overcome the effect of it’s current momentum.

Put that to a beat and you’ve got a hit.

– See What the Oldest Surviving Kodak Camera Looks Like Today

Frankly- and this might be a bit of a spoiler, so consider yourself warned- I think he’s really let himself go. Botox isn’t just for women, you know. But that’s just my opinion.

– 3D Printed Tiny Fish Could Be Used for Drug Delivery

WTF? Wall Street Journal, are you high?

– Feds Using “Stingrays” to Spy on Cell Phones?

Why not? Russia’s using bears to invade villages.

– What the Evolution of Fire Can Teach us About Climate Change

Fire does not evolve. It is the same now as it was a million years ago. I hate bullshit “science” that is done by hipsters who want to sound like they know what they’re talking about in their desperate attempt to justify fake glasses and ironic pocket protectors. You’re not fooling anyone, hipsters. Back away from science and go sip your Pabst in the corner before you break something.

– Baby Delivered in Uber Car By Lincoln Tunnel

That’s a very talented tunnel.

– The Strange Practice of “Gnoming”

I don’t want to know. You don’t want to know. I guarantee our lives are better if we remain in the dark on this one.

– Man Escapes Fire, Talks About Saving his BBQ Ribs

Oh, ‘Merica.

– In the Future, Your Hot Dogs Might Be Made of Trees

You ate the brownies at the Wall Street Journal party, didn’t you, Newsweek?

– Cops Fire 84 Shots at Robbery Suspect, Hit Him Once

That’s some Grand Theft Auto bullshit right there.

– Biden’s Wife May Share His Misgivings About Another Race

I really feel like the editor should have added “For Office” at the end. Just to clarify things.

– Gov. Brown Prohibits Ban on Artificial Lawns as Voter Turnout Bill Advances

I feel like this news site just took to random, vaguely political topics and mashed them together. What in the hell does astroturf have to do with voter turnout?

– Campaign Manager Doesn’t Even Try to Manage Trump

The No Shit Gazette is back in full swing.

– New Hampshire Town Celebrates Notable ’65 UFO Citing

Bahaha! What idiots! A UFO celebration in New…

Oh… That said New Hampshire? I thought it said New JERSEY. Heh heh. *gulp*

Well. This got awkward.

Thus concludes a Roundup for Saturday, September 5, 2015. Today is Teen Prime’s b-day. Alas, he is spending the day with his dad’s fam. *sniff* I did not get to make my baby a b-day breakfast. I’ll just have to be doubly annoying when I see him tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

