Gettin’ awful choosy about which “huddled masses”, America…

Standard

Mornin’ all.

The brain is churning bright and early today. Actually, it started to churn before it was bright. I freaked my cat being up before the sun started to shine. She looked at me, looked at the window, cocked her head and meowed, “What the hell?”

…fine, don’t believe me. But it totally happened.

The coffee’s garbage. I mean, I took a sip and almost spit it out. I didn’t put enough water in and it almost walked itself from the pot to my cup. My eye is still twitching in aftershocks from that first sip before I dumped it into a much larger mug and watered it down.

I’ve got a lot going on upstairs. Too many things swirling. Had some interesting dreams because of it, I’ll tell you what. Have you ever dreamed you were delivering a wedding cake via canoe? Yeah.

I get the cake part. That’s one of the things swirling. I’m making a wedding cake over the next couple days and though it’s not the first, it’s always a point of stress. I can totally understand why a cake would be in my dreams.

But a canoe?

The couple is having their reception at the local Elks lodge. It’s pretty much the premiere place in the area for all kinds of parties. Everyone has one of these in their town, or in a town very nearby. It’s a hall that’s clean, cheap, and easily accessible. Nicer than a VFW, but not as uppity as a country club. You know, for us regular folks.

I’ve personally been to eight or nine functions there, and I can tell you for a fact that you do not need a canoe to reach that particular Elks lodge.

I like canoes well enough. I haven’t been in one for years and years. When I was in jr. high, I went on a canoe adventure with a youth group down the Connecticut river. It sounds grander than it was. Really the adventure consisted of about 15 kids who had no idea how to canoe paddling in circles and falling out into a muddy backwash. In fact, now that I think about it, I can’t remember us ever actually GOING anywhere.

But there were roasted marshmallows that night at the campsite, and we saw a bald eagle, so it was a win.

I also think there may have been some sock bowling on the way back from that trip with my older sister and her boyfriend. Was it that trip?

Hey, I told you the mind was a’swirl.

Then there’s family on the mind. Always. Sometimes it’s happy thoughts and sock bowling memories, and sometimes it’s stress and worry. Hey, it’s family. That’s what happens. Someone’s always going to have a health issue, because the laws of statistics say that. Someone’s always going to have some drama. Someone’s going to get to have fun setting off homemade smoke bombs under the guise of teaching her kid a science lesson and not send you the formula yet so you can do it to teach your own kids science (translation: to piss off annoying neighbors)…YOU KNOW WHICH SISTER YOU ARE. I expect a recipe in my inbox toot sweet!

I need an “off” switch in my brain. I’ve got a bunch of old electronics equipment lying around. Think I could rig one up? I’m pretty handy with a soldering iron.

And then there’s the news. That’s got me all worked up. It’s summer, so people are leaving their kids in the car to bake to death.

I’ve had 4 kids go through babydom and the toddler years, and would you know that not once did I “forget” that they were in the car with me? Boy, Fate and Luck must have been smiling down on me, eh? Either that or I just wasn’t a completely self absorbed idiot.

TAKE YOUR KIDS IN THE STORE WITH YOU, ASSHOLES.

There’s an app now that reminds you to check the back seat to see if you’ve got a baby in there. AN APP. And the horrible thing is that it will honestly probably save lives. People need an app to remember their kids. Unbelievable.

The other story that’s really got my attention is the US border crisis. Unprecedented numbers of children are crossing the border illegally looking for a safe life. And when I say children, I’m talking about little kids. Parents are sending their children up, largely from Central America, on their own in the hopes that they’ll be accepted into the US. There was a story about an 8 year old boy who was nabbed by border patrol. Only 8 years old.

I have an 8 year old boy. He’s brazen, but tiny. He still needs me to hug him when he’s had a bad day. He still needs me to convince him the lightning storm won’t get him when he’s safe in his bed. He still needs me to cook his meals and help him with his homework and show him how to hit a nail with a hammer…

He still needs me.

I read that article and was honestly crying by the end. I cannot imagine the horrible life that boy’s parents tried to save him from. I can’t imagine how bad it had to be for them to kiss their little child goodbye and sneak him out and send him off in the big world all alone.

He made the journey from Guatemala with a couple other kids, all around his age or a bit older. None even close to adulthood. He didn’t have his Mama to hold him through the ordeal. He didn’t have a bed to hide in during the thunderstorms. He had a journey that no adult I know would be willing to take.

And then he got nabbed by border patrol. He got to where he was promised safety, and now he sits in lock up and waits.

There are going to be an estimated 50,000+ children this year pouring over our borders. If the numbers continue as they’ve been going for the first half of the year, we may even hit 60,000. Stop and think about that.

I’m not talking about adults who cross. I’m not talking about grown ups who know what they’re risking by illegally entering the country. I’m not talking about people who are aware they are breaking a pretty big law.

This point is important. This fact is critical. I’m NOT talking about the man who wants to leave Mexico or one of the Central American nations to find a better life here without going through the proper channels. I’m talking about children. CHILDREN. 8, 10, 15…3 or 4 in some cases. Little children whose parents decided for them. Children, exactly like our own.

CHILDREN.

If you want to feel sick and sad about humanity in general, find one of these stories covering the crisis and then scroll to the comments section below. Here are some gut wrenching gems from two different articles dealing with the situation on NBCNews (Spelling and grammar are the choices of the idiots who posted. Wouldn’t want to be so presumptuous as to correct them, now…):

“When they keep talking immigration reform bills do they mean just giving these illegal locust people all amnesty?”

“OMG that trip was so hard. Coyotes and rapes and starvation…WAH WAH. No shiz! Then stay in your own country and don’t make that trip idiots!”

“sick of these ‘victims’, no one cares.”

“Its time too place the Protected Black Wolf in these territory’s. Lets place Great quantity’s of Rattlers on the trails used by travelers.” (…to which there was a round of cheers and the added suggestion of filling the Rio Grande with gators. People cheered at the thought of wild carnivores tearing kids apart limb by limb. Let that one sink in.)

“Deferred action for childhood arivals in 2012. Obamas action! This is orchestrated to accomplish his personal agenda. Wake up america! Do you know the Money for social security and disability runs out next year. This is all in his game.”

“Obama being from and having relatives from Kenya sympathizes with them. Many of his relatives are living here illegally.”

I’d like to clear one thing up. Obama is NOT in favor of keeping the children here. I don’t know why people have that impression. The money he requested is to medically treat them, temporarily house them, hire more border patrol for the interrogations, and then send them back. He’s not keeping them. This is in no way an Obama “ploy”. In fact, he’s going to end up looking like a big asshole here, no matter which side of the coin you’re on.

So the people who want to sick gators on kids haven’t even taken five minutes on google to look at the facts of the situation.

A common thought among the overworked border agents is that this may be a ploy by the drug cartels that have really moved into the Central American nations, that the cartels are forcing the kids to flood the borders to overwhelm the patrol and make their smuggling runs easier. While it may sound like the plot to a bad movie, I have to admit there’s some sense to it.

But does that matter?

Okay, say these kids really ARE patsies of the cartels. So what? We round them up and send them home…and then what? What kind of life will be there for them in a nation that’s clearly overrun by drug lords? And if we send them back…did they fail, then? Will there be repercussions for them? Or will the czars be happy with their efforts and bring them into the fold? Will we just end up fighting them in ten years’ time?? Any way you look at it, life for these kids when they return to their home countries will not be good. They just won’t.

Look, we need some reform. That’s absolutely true. We’ve got a problem with undocumented workers, we make legal immigration damn near impossible with a 10 year waiting period for a Mexican to get a green card… But this is not about that. We’ve got an opportunity here to help. Not to send a check to a foreign nation and HOPE it isn’t snatched up or misused by a corrupt government or rebellious cartel. We’ve got a chance to really help. We keep pretending we’re a giving and caring babysitter to the world. We’ve done so for years. What’s written on the Statue of Liberty?

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses, yearning to breath free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore,
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!

We’ve got a chance to step up, here, to put our money where our mouth is and prove it.

But I guess for some people, that invite doesn’t extend to starving kids, does it? Hey, if these self centered asshats send ’em back, at least there’s no risk the kids will be left to die in a hot mini van. That’s something.

Right?

Thus concludes the Morning Musing for Thursday, July 10, 2014. I know for a fact I’ll probably lose some friends over this post. If that’s the case, then I’m much better off having them gone.

Leave a Reply

