Inaugural Muse….

Standard

Good morning, one and all!

I have been doing this musing on and off for a few years, sending it to family and friends. Then life happened. You know, LIFE. Yeah, we’ve all been there. In the process of dealing with storms of excrement and all the fun aftershocks those bring, musing in the morn fell by the wayside.

Then something amazing happened. I picked up my pen and began to write again.

…okay, you got me. I didn’t pick up a pen. Jeez, it’s not like it’s still 1984. It was more a metaphorical pen. I dusted off the rickety old keyboard, cracked my out-of-shape knuckles, and fired up my word processing program. After promptly spending hours on updates, I was finally ready to write.

I’ve put out a few books so far, available online (I’ll figure out where to post the link once I get the hang of this blog thing) to test the waters and see about building a writing career. And while I am really enjoying writing the books, I do miss the Muse. I miss giving my opinion on random things that really don’t mean much in the long run, and hearing back that I did so in a manner that made someone laugh. Or ticked ’em off. Or just helped them kill a few minutes before work.

So I said to myself, “Bethie, go on and get yerself a blog.” I’m from Nah Hampshah. My inner voice speaks with the accent.

I never thought I’d blog. And I clearly don’t know what I’m doing yet. Hell, I’ve already promoted a book I have absolutely no idea how to link. I’m not positive, but I think that’s kind of backwards.

Oh! I know! I can always claim that I was simply trying to hype it. Build up the talk. Work my audience into a writhing frenzy who just can’t wait for that blessed moment when they log on and actually see a link to download the wonderment that is a novel by me.

…or maybe you’re rolling your eyes at how badly I’ve already bungled things.

Yeah. It’s probably the latter.

So what, exactly, is the Morning Muse? This. Talking. Drinking coffee and rambling on for awhile about whatever’s on my mind. I’m certain there will be things about this writing process. I’ve got some kids and a man, so there’s plenty of material to work with there. I’ve got opinions on politics, which I’ll probably share, and ones on religion I probably won’t. I’ll tell you about the crazy stupid dream I had the night before (last night’s had top hats. On everyone. I told you they were stupid.), or the piece of news that ticked me off, or any number of random tidbits I feel must be said.

And I’ll do it all as if you were sitting in front of me. No worries about the comma in the wrong place, or ending a sentence with a dangling participle. If I want my participles to dangle, that’s just something you’ll have to deal with. I often have music running through my head when I’m writing certain things, and sometimes a stage must be set for you to get the full effect of crazy that I’m picturing. Don’t worry, I’ll be sure to let you in all all of that.

Like most people who start blogs, I fully intend to update often. Unlike most people who start blogs, I promise to make a real effort to actually pull that off. Every day? I’m going to be honest. Probably not. But I do find that the more I write, the more I WANT to write.

That bodes well for our future, don’t you think?

Thus concludes the Morning Musing for Thursday, June12, 2014. Off I go to try and figure out the rest of this blog site. If I accidentally link you to some crazy interpretive dance clip on youtube, my apologies. Unless you like it. No, now don’t be embarrassed. It’s okay if you like it. We all like different things, man. No judgment.

Leave a Reply

